SIFF PROJECT | Guan Hu, Kailuo Liu and Chang Chia-Lu Appointed Jury Members

The 20th Shanghai International Film Festival made the official announcement that Shanghai International Film Festival Project (SIFF PROJECT) has invited the famous Chinese film director Guan Hu to be the President of the Jury, and the screenwriter Chang Chia-Lu and the producer Kailuo Liu as jury members. The three will be present at all the seminars and activities of SIFF PROJECT, and select the winners of the three awards: Best Talent Project, Most Creative Project and Most Bankable Project, all of which will be made public at the awarding ceremony on June 20th. The jury consisting of the three senior filmmakers encourages projects of different genres and makes the final decisions based on comprehensive evaluations in terms of creativity, production and so on.

2017 has been the 11th year since SIFF PROJECT’s founding. During the first decade, it has propelled 44 film projects to be produced into movies, many of which have won great awards at the film festivals across the world. Among them, 9 films have even been screened in cinemas in the past two years. As an industrial exchange platform, SIFF PROJECT is committed to recommending and promoting outstanding teams and projects, and with its high efficiency, professional and practical operation, it has been widely recognized and appraised in the movie market and is becoming an influential financing platform for movie projects in Asia.

For the time being, the selected projects in 2016: At the Dock (Han Dong) Summer Arouse (LI Xiaojiang), Missing Johnny (Huang Xi), and those in 2015, Home Away (Yan Lei) and Ash (Li Xiaofeng) from SIFF Project 2010, have all completed filming. Reset will be in theatre in June 30, and Blue Amber (Zhou Jie) which won the Best Young Director Project last year is expected to start shooting by the end of this year.

In order to provide more professional opinions and supports for the film project development and film production, SIFF PROJECT invites active filmmakers from home and abroad to be jury members every year. Members on previous juries include Cao Baoping, Ma Ke, Midi Z, Huang Jianxin, Ho Wan-Ming, Tsui Siu-Ming, He Ping, Yeh Jufeng , Kwong Man-Wai, Sun Zhou, Lee Lieh , Philip Lee, Gary Kurtz, Liu Wei-Jan , Zhang Yibai, Bennett Walsh, Xu Ligong, Shozo Ichiyama, Zhao Haicheng, Yan Geling, Lorna Tee, Xie Fei, Yu Wai-Kwok , Derek Elley and Mabel Cheung.

Guan Hu

Guan Hu, a movie director, graduated from Beijing Film Academy in 1991. His work Eyes of Beauty (2002) won NETPAC Award at Hawaii International Film Festival and the Most Popular film at the 10th Beijing College Student Film Festival; Cow(2009) was selected into the Horizon section of 66th Venice Film Festival, screened at the Vancouver International Film Festival, was nominated for 7 single awards and won Best Leading Actor and Best Screenplay at the 46th Taipei Golden Horse Film Festival, won the Golden Camera at the Vesoul International Film Festival of Asian Cinema and Best Picture and Best Leading Actor at the 2nd Sydney Chinese Film Festival; in 2012, his work Design of Death was nominated for 6 single awards at the 49th Taipei Golden Horse Film Festival and won Best Supporting Actress and Best Art Design; Mr. Six (2015) was screened at the 72th Venice Film Festival as the Closing Film, and it was nominated for Best Original Screenplay at the 52th Taipei Golden Horse Film Festival and won the Best Leading Actor Award.

Kailuo Liu

Kailuo Liu is the President of Heyi Pictures. He has been working for almost 20 years in film industry after graduating from Beijing Film Academy with a master degree. Mr. Liu once was the Deputy General Manager of Wanda Media and the Deputy General Manager of Beijing Galloping Horse Film & TV Production etc. His works include Surprise, Saving Mr. Wu, Monster Hunt, Lethal Hostage, Guns and Roses, Love on Credit, Reign of Assassins and so on.


Chang Chia-Lu

Chang Chia-Lu is a senior screenwriter. At present, he is the Creative Director of CKF Film Productions. Mr. Chang received his MA in Drama Studies from National Taipei University of Arts and has won a number of screenplay awards. He garnered a Golden Horse Award in Best Adapted Screenplay with A World Without Thieves (2005), while his work of The Message (2009) and Kora (2011) were nominated in the same category. Meanwhile, in 2007, he won China Times Literature Award in Taiwan with a short novel titled The Terrorists. His latest works include Forever Enthralled (2008), Detective Dee and the Mystery of Phantom Flame (2010), Taichi 0 and Taichi Hero (2012), Young Detective Dee: Rise of the Sea Dragon (2013), The Ghouls (2015) and so on.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.